Kay Nicolson

Kay Nicolson

I have always loved colour and the way colour can affect mood. I aim to invoke a feeling of warmth and happiness through my paintings.

Pattern is also a very important element in my art, which comes from my background in textiles and interior design.

Having started out as an artist and interior designer, for the past 11 years I have been employed as a primary teacher. Working with children on creative projects has influenced my own work towards a style which appeals to the younger generation and my paintings and prints are ideal for a child’s bedroom or playroom. I fell in love with owls after a school project on birds of prey when some real live owls came to visit our school. The children were mesmerised. My own 3 children are my biggest inspiration and most challenging critics.

My trademark dark sky with twinkling stars and moon set off the bright colours and simple forms of my nocturnal characters and bring them to life.

you can see more of Kay’s work on 

www.mymoongarden.co.uk

 

Kay-Nicolson

 

Leave a Reply

